Friday, September 08, 2006
The Joys of Living in the City
So it is currently 12:32 at night and i am so freaking tired that all i want to do is sleep. And i almost was asleep, until i heard a commotion outside. So Joe went to check it out and apparently there was a group of teenagers out in the street and now i'm paranoid and can't go back to bed. See, 3 weeks ago i was getting ready to go to work and my co-worker pointed out that my car window had been smashed in. Well, 360 bucks later i have a new window and am incredibly poorer. So now i'm unable to go to sleep because i don't want this to be a recurring theme with my living in this neighborhood. And its not like its even a bad neighborhood or anything like that! I mean, between the two asian families (grandpares, parents, kids) and the old people who lived in the house directly adjacent to the one i'm in, there isn't a lot of room for trouble makers. So i don't know if these kids are coming into the neighborhood or what, but its really annoying and i don't like the fact that i don't feel like my car is safe being parked in the driveway. I guess we'll just have to turn on the outdoor light before i go to sleep every night and hope that that does something to deter these stupid punks. I know i can't afford to be replacing my damn window every time they decide to do anything. I just wonder if they actually did something to someone elses car/property tonight or if joe chased them off before they had a chance to...
Tuesday, August 29, 2006
I hate checks
Ok, so my list of things to do after work today was very short, not at all time consuming, and made me happy all day just thinking about it. Those two things were...picking my car up from the mechanic, and getting a new comp. I was so excited about getting my car because i have been carless for almost a month now. It all originated when....*wavy lines signally flashback*
I am preparing to go to work on a tuesday when my ride ( i carpool) says to me "kristi, what has happened to your car" i reply "um..nothing.." and then look over, to see that my back window has been shattered because some idiot jerkoff has decided to punch a hole in it. We drive to work, I come home, pick up the shattered pieces of my poor window and go to work. I come home and make an appointment for friday and take my car to the shop (because i would rather have it inside than on the street with a missing window). I finally get my car the next tuesday, however they inform me that there is a part ( the timing belt) which may be faulty and could fail at any time, causing my poor car engine to be completely ruined. That being said, the soonest they could get me in was 3 weeks later. So i make an appointment at another place and go to pick up my car today...
So i write the lady a check...and it was rejected...because apparently now companies use this check security company called Certegy Checks or something like that, and since i hadn't written a check for them before it was a "security risk". So i call and bitch to the company and they fix it and i pay for my car ($1600). By this time an hour has passed....
So i go to the computer store to pick up a computer. i find the one i wanted was sold before i got there (darn it!) but find another thats only slightly more expensive and with better specs. Turns out its the demo comp so i don't even have a box to put in storage (yes!). So i write them a check and...you guessed it, they use this bullcrap check system. So after the poor guy spends 40 minutes on the phone trying to contact them they say the check is rejected, I use my debit card (which i should have used to begin with) and come home with my comp.
seriously though, is this part of some scheme designed to keep me from writing checks and only using my credit/debit cards? what the crap....
I am preparing to go to work on a tuesday when my ride ( i carpool) says to me "kristi, what has happened to your car" i reply "um..nothing.." and then look over, to see that my back window has been shattered because some idiot jerkoff has decided to punch a hole in it. We drive to work, I come home, pick up the shattered pieces of my poor window and go to work. I come home and make an appointment for friday and take my car to the shop (because i would rather have it inside than on the street with a missing window). I finally get my car the next tuesday, however they inform me that there is a part ( the timing belt) which may be faulty and could fail at any time, causing my poor car engine to be completely ruined. That being said, the soonest they could get me in was 3 weeks later. So i make an appointment at another place and go to pick up my car today...
So i write the lady a check...and it was rejected...because apparently now companies use this check security company called Certegy Checks or something like that, and since i hadn't written a check for them before it was a "security risk". So i call and bitch to the company and they fix it and i pay for my car ($1600). By this time an hour has passed....
So i go to the computer store to pick up a computer. i find the one i wanted was sold before i got there (darn it!) but find another thats only slightly more expensive and with better specs. Turns out its the demo comp so i don't even have a box to put in storage (yes!). So i write them a check and...you guessed it, they use this bullcrap check system. So after the poor guy spends 40 minutes on the phone trying to contact them they say the check is rejected, I use my debit card (which i should have used to begin with) and come home with my comp.
seriously though, is this part of some scheme designed to keep me from writing checks and only using my credit/debit cards? what the crap....
The first Ramble
So apparently the big thing now is to write in blogs, I suppose it comes from our need to keep in contact and actually talk to each other once in a while. This becomes infinitely harder when close friends who once lived together, went to class together, or just plain hung out together are split up by physical distance...stupid real world! Anyways, the other day I was actually thinking about this, and how now its almost weird to talk to old friends because you don't know anything about their lives anymore, its almost like meeting a new person. I mean, yeah you talk about old times, but at the same time if I tell you a story about how Ben is the nature director and can tell time by the sun, you have no clue what i'm talking about and the story is slightly less funny. So maybe blogs and other sites such as Facebook are ways that we can still keep in touch and know whats going on in each others lives. You can see pictures of new people that your friends have met, or read about things they have done, and feel a little more connected....
who knows?
who knows?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
